Walt Whitman’s Niece

Last year or the years before that

I won’t say which year

A President friend of mine

I won’t say which President friend

Said bring them on

I won’t say bring who on

Lock them up he said

I won’t say who or why

Last year or the years before that

I won’t say which year

That President friend of mine

I won’t say which President friend

Lost interest in the prisoners

I won’t say which prisoners

Last year or the years before that

I won’t say which year

Another President friend of mine

I won’t say which President friend

Said I am going to close that prison

I won’t say which prison

Last year or the years before that

I won’t say which year

One of the elected parties

I won’t say which party

Said no to closing that prison

I won’t say which prison

Last year or the years before that

I won’t say which year

America’s good name

I won’t say which name

Turned from good to something else

I won’t say what the else was

Last year or the years before that

I won’t say which year

America lost its courage

I won’t say which courage

And forgot to live by the rules of law

I won’t say why

Last year or the years before that

I won’t say which year

Guantanamo or someplace like that

I won’t say where it was

Cried out for courage or common sense

I won’t say which one

 

It is time to Close Guantanamo !

Apologies to Billy Bragg and WILCO.

It is time and long overdue for the US to close Guantanamo Detention Facility.  It is time for Americans to remember their historic rules of law and cease acting like a third world country.  Close Guantanamo.

Explore posts in the same categories: Barack Obama, Democratic Party, George Bush, Politics, Republican Party

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 202 other followers

